advice, general ramblings, parenting, the importance of family

Morning Advice

Good morning bloggers and a very happy Tuesday to you!

Its Tuesday, the second day of the week, however it feels just as sloppy as the first. I had great dreams last night and thats a shocker because I hardly ever have good dreams. In fact, I had a really great sleep last night! 

This morning, thoughts about when I first brought my kids home from the hospital came to mind. Apart from me being really sick (septicemia, when I brought my son home, thanks to my useless gynae), I had to deal with continuous disagreements with my in laws.

I am the type of person that does not like to hurt people’s feelings, but after about 2 weeks of this drama of what to do and what not to do with my child, I about had enough! 

Needless to say, the outlook of some people, was narrow minded and old fashioned. I was told that because someone had many children they are better than a mother that has only had one child. I was furious at this because I am an only child and I have never suffered because of my parents.

My son, got sick and instead of listening to me, my decisions were questioned and old school ways that I did not approve of, were adopted. As we saw no improvement, I decided it was time to put my foot down. It was a struggle and I had to battle many people to have my way, however my way was right. My son got better and we were on our way to recovery. Its a horrible thing when your child is sick and you feel helpless, unable to make their little heart feel a bit better. It broke my heart and it still does when I think of that time.

I’ve battled a lot of people for people to respect me as a mother but I have learned many things on the way.

  • Trust your gut. A mothers instinct is almost NEVER wrong. If you think that something is fishy with your child, it’s most probably true.
  • Be firm. You are the decision maker for your child, no one else! No one has the right to make a decision for your child apart from you.
  • Be strong. Many people have “improvements ” to impose on your mothering. Don’t you worry. You are being the best mother you can be. 
  • What works for everyone may not work for you. Each child is different, raise your child in the way that works best for the both of you. If your child has a better sleep when sleeping next to you, you don’t have to put them in the cot or a seperate bed, just because others are doing it.
  • You decide your child’s milestones. Just because everyones kids are ready to go to the toilet on their own,  does not mean that your child is. Let your child go through things at their own pace. Don’t rush them to keep up with the crowd. Patience with children is so very important.
  • Don’t ever let someone else try to take your place! You are your child’s parent. Don’t let others teach your child different.

Those are just a few things that I have learned that have brought me a long way. I was walked all over until I took a stand for myself. This is just not for mums, this is for single dads and dads that have wives that cannot look after their kids. It is important to be respected as a parent. 

Leave a Reply

